Panatella | A cable revelation or a cigar…

I recently had the good fortune and pleasure of meeting Mark Coles. Mark, you see, is the founder and proprietor of Sablon Audio. This is a terrifically forward thinking company out of the UK – which means, as I love it said, they’re right across that pond we call the Atlantic.

Image

Well, at first glance, you’d wouldn’t appreciate that Mark has a slight interest in and passion for Cigars. But after spending some time with his products, you might begin to see how he likes to smoke the things around him.

All kidding and amateur comedic remarks put aside, I’ve had his Panatela interconnect in my system now for about 3 weeks, including the current multiple pairs that I NOW own! And I can wholeheartedly share that these little innocuous cotton sheathed gems smoke the few cables that I’ve owned and have had the opportunity to compare them to. Are they the be all end all? I’m sure they’re not, how else can you explain the Über  priced Nordost Odins….  But at this price point and anywhere near them I don’t think they can be beat!  Seriously!  And if you don’t want to take my word for it, then check out Jeff Day’s recent “Fresh Catch” post about them!  They really are spectacular and even if I could justify spending Odin kind of money, I really doubt that I would!  The performance gap just doesn’t justify price gap…

So let me share some preliminary broad concept thoughts?

Revelatory? Yes, for me it’s been beyond what words can describe!  More time is required for me to fully digest these cables impact, but they’ve been great.

Detailed? You got that right!  I continue to be amazed hearing things I never heard before, and even at a micro level!

Neutral?  Well, you may not truly “get” neutral until you plug these babies in and find out just how biased your existing cables are.  Wow!

Check back in early April for my full review!

Leave a Reply

