Getting to the APD DAC review…

I’m wrapping up my thoughts on the AcousticPlan Digimaster DAC and finally plan to put fingers to keyboard for a lay person’s review.  This has taken a little longer than I expected, but I really should not be surprised.  This side endeavor is just that, a side activity and not my main priority.

In the interim, I thought it might be helpful and interesting to put in context my DAC samplings.  To begin with, my sampling is limited.  There’s the standard garden variety non-sense, then a Grant Fidelity specialty Tube entry level product, a MHDT Havana, and I’ve had the Rega in my system for a trial run.  I have also owned a few Oppo players, including the current reference BDP 95.

Using this for some perspective, I can share at this point that the APD is in a completely different league.  Frankly, I was never really impressed or pleased with any DAC that I’ve heard or owned.  Sure, they sounded nicer than an iPod, but nothing to really make you go wow, like I do with vinyl.

The APD, however, gives you reason to go wow!  Is it on par with vinyl?  Well, not exactly, but wow!  For now, until I finally get a review completed, let me just say this, unless you can afford one, don’t ever listen to this DAC.  Otherwise, you may just find yourself bummed and coveting the APD!

AcousticPlan DigiMaster DAC

4 comments

  1. Bill · April 3, 2012

    Lost,
    You’ll throw rocks at it when you hear the Bel Canto DAC… 😉

    • Lost in Analogue · April 3, 2012

      LOL, Bill! I’m sure I would… Thankfully, I haven’t. But as you know, I chose the “synergy” approach… It’s what M&J would want!

  2. Holberg · April 21, 2012

    Looking very much forward to Your review. When do You expect to release Your final impressions on the DigiMaster?

    • Lost in Analogue · April 21, 2012

      Jesper,

      Candidly, I’ve been swamped. I will try to get to this in the next week. For now I will say that I think it is fabulous. My only criticism is the cheap power supply provided with it. I’ve since had one specially made for it for a fraction of the AP upgraded one. I’ll write more when I get the review done.

      Hope all is well!

      GLIA

Leave a Reply

