Digimaster is a master

My apologies for running behind on my evaluation of the AcousticPlan Digimaster DAC.  I’ve just been very busy. You know, FWIW, I have a new found appreciation for what part-time reviewers go through…

So please check back the first week of June.  In the interim, I will say this – I think it is incredible.  It’s unlike anything I’ve ever heard handle digital.  The bass extension is ridiculous!  And it’s ability to make even an iTunes download sound good is a shockingly good development.  As for high-resolution files, they’re sweet, but not enough to make me forget my analogue front end, but damn good at making me enjoy my music!

My ONLY gripe – you can’t use it (or any other DAC for that matter) to handle ANY SACD source material!  Copyright issues preclude that.  Thankfully, I only have a handful of SACD files, but a whole lot of digital files!

2 comments

  1. pitchperfectaudio · May 16, 2012

    What more to say, than ‘thumbs’ up on the review. Glad you are finding the AcousticPlan DigiMaster a fine fit for your system!
    -M

  2. TommyC · November 5, 2012

    Franklin, how do you like the Digimaster DAC now? What do you use as a digital source previously?

Leave a Reply

